Arkansas Children's Hospital Careers About Arkansas Children's Hospital Contact Us News
Patients and Families Healthcare Professionals Supporters

Article Sections

Arkansas Children’s Hospital Honors Staff, Community Physicians at Ruth Olive Beall, Betty A. Lowe, MD, Awards

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. (April 22, 2010) – Physicians who have advanced Arkansas pediatric health care shined Thursday evening at the Arkansas Children’s Hospital (ACH) signature recognition ceremony, the Ruth Olive Beall and Betty A. Lowe, MD, Awards.

The fourth annual event honored the tireless effort and dedication of physicians who serve on staff, as well as of a community clinic that has continuously supported ACH. The hospital presented 41 physicians with milestone service awards for periods ranging from five to 30 years on staff.

Held at Chenal Country Club in Little Rock, the awards ceremony also recognized three pediatricians and one child development expert with the hospital’s highest honors. The physicians received a statuesque crystal vase as a display of appreciation for the support and devotion they have shown ACH.

The Betty A. Lowe, MD, Award recipient’s name will be added to a plaque next to an original painting by renowned Little Rock artist Barry Thomas, which hangs prominently in the hospital. The ACH Foundation also presented the recipient with a signed, limited edition print of the painting.

• Elizabeth Frazier, MD, received the Ruth Olive Beall Award, which is presented to a physician who consistently displays the ACH Service and Behavioral Standards. Dr. Frazier is medical director of the heart transplant program at ACH and a professor of Pediatrics in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine.

• Joe Elser, MD, medical director of the General Pediatric, Circle of Friends and Headache Clinics at ACH and an associate professor of Pediatrics at UAMS, received the Drs. Joanna J. & Robert W. Seibert Award. This award honors a physician, clinical service, section or unit displaying outstanding teamwork. It is named for physicians who epitomize and promote teamwork at ACH.

• Horace Green, MD, and the staff of Children’s Clinic of Pine Bluff, received the Dr. Tom Ed Townsend Award. The honor recognizes an Arkansas community physician and clinic that have provided excellence in health care and have been consistent supporters of ACH.  Dr. Green has served as a mentor to countless pediatricians across the state, and touches the lives of hundreds of children in the Pine Bluff area each month. The clinic where he practices, which opened more than 50 years ago, now has a staff of 19, including six physicians and six nurses. All the pediatricians at The Children’s Clinic of Pine Bluff are instructors in the AHEC residency training program, and Dr. Green serves on the AHEC advisory council.

• Bettye Caldwell, PhD, an internationally recognized researcher in early childhood development, received the Betty A. Lowe, MD, Award. The honor is given by the ACH Foundation to an individual who, through personal initiative, service and leadership, has made a significant contribution to the health and well-being of the children of Arkansas. Dr. Caldwell’s collaboration in the 1960s with Dr. Julius Richmond led to the initiation of the Head Start program, and her model, Home Observation for the Measurement of the Environment (HOME), is the backbone for hundreds of research studies performed across the world.

Ruth Olive Beall was the second superintendent of the Arkansas Children’s Home and Hospital. Under her leadership, ACH weathered the storm of the depression, made record progress and expanded well beyond its original status. Betty Ann Lowe, MD, is an Arkansas pediatrician, past medical director of ACH and professor emeritus at UAMS. This program is named in honor of these women because they were visionaries for ACH.

Arkansas Children’s Hospital is the only pediatric medical center in Arkansas and one of the largest in the United States serving children. The campus spans 28 city blocks and houses 316 beds, a staff of approximately 500 physicians, 80 residents in pediatrics and pediatric specialties and more than 4,000 employees. The private, nonprofit healthcare facility boasts an internationally renowned reputation for medical breakthroughs and intensive treatments, unique surgical procedures and forward-thinking medical research - all dedicated to fulfilling our mission of enhancing, sustaining and restoring children's health and development. ACH recently ranked No. 85 on FORTUNE 100 Best Companies to Work For®. For more information, visit .

UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a new 540,000-square-foot hospital, six centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has 2,652 students and 733 medical residents. Its centers of excellence include the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, the Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy, the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, the Psychiatric Research Institute and the Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 10,000 employees, including nearly 1,150 physicians who provide medical care to patients at UAMS, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, the VA Medical Center and UAMS’ Area Health Education Centers throughout the state. Visit or .

Related Articles

Health Info
Donate Now