Arkansas Children's Hospital Careers About Arkansas Children's Hospital Contact Us News
Patients and Families Healthcare Professionals Supporters

Article Sections

ACH Honors Arkansas First Lady, Local Physicians at Ruth Olive Beall & Betty A. Lowe, MD, Awards

LITTLE ROCK, ARK. (April 25, 2013) – Community leaders who have advanced pediatric health care shined Thursday evening at Arkansas Children's Hospital's (ACH) signature recognition ceremony, the Ruth Olive Beall and Betty A. Lowe, MD, Awards.

The seventh annual event honored the tireless effort and dedication of physicians who serve on staff, as well as of community champions of pediatric health issues. The hospital presented 47 physicians with milestone service awards for periods ranging from five to 30 years on staff. The ceremony also included a tribute to the late Dr. Betty A. Lowe, a force of nature in pediatric health who died in March.

Held at Chenal Country Club in Little Rock, the awards ceremony recognized two pediatricians, a pediatric nutrition researcher, a community pediatric gastroenterologist and a sitting Arkansas First Lady with the hospital's highest honors.

  • Arkansas First Lady Ginger Beebe received the 2013 Betty A. Lowe, MD, Award, which is given annually to an individual who through personal initiative, service and leadership has made a significant contribution to the health and well-being of the children of Arkansas. As First Lady, Mrs. Beebe has spearheaded many initiatives to ensure children across our great state lead happy, healthy lives. She has demonstrated consistent personal dedication to improving the lives of children in the areas of behavioral health, oral health, health literacy, injury prevention and any number of other conditions, which, if left unattended, may limit the ability of a child to develop to their fullest capacity.
  • May Griebel, MD, received the Ruth Olive Beall Award, which is presented to a physician who consistently displays the ACH Service and Behavioral Standards. Dr. Griebel, a retired pediatric neurologist, was the primary force behind the development of the state's first pediatric sleep laboratory and the Sleep Disorders Center at Arkansas Children's Hospital. She also helped build the UAMS Child Neurology Service, ACH's Epilepsy Monitoring Unit and the ACH Neuroscience Center of Excellence. She is a professor of Pediatrics in the Division of Neurology in the UAMS College of Medicine.
  • Eldon Schulz, MD, received the Drs. Joanna J. & Robert W. Seibert Award, bestowed upon a physician displaying outstanding teamwork. The honor is named for physicians who epitomized and promoted teamwork at ACH. Dr. Schulz has dedicated his career to caring for children with special needs and developmental disabilities. He led the Dennis Developmental Center on the ACH campus for 20 years and is section chief for Developmental-Behavioral and Rehabilitative Pediatrics in the UAMS Department of Pediatrics. Recently, he created an innovative program that helps community pediatricians better triage and diagnose children with low complexity autism spectrum disorders. He holds the Rockefeller Endowed Chair for Children with Special Needs.
  • Thomas Badger, PhD, received the inaugural Dr. Robert H. Fiser, Jr. Research Achievement Award. In its first year, the honor is intended to be an annual recognition of an Arkansas Children's Hospital Research Institute (ACHRI) scientist who has distinguished himself or herself through extraordinary research that will have lasting impact on the health, development and well-being of children and their families. As director of the Arkansas Children's Nutrition Center, Dr. Badger has devoted his career to understanding the role of nutritional status and dietary factors in development, growth and metabolism. Under his leadership, ACNC has received more than $122 million in research funding from major granting organizations.
  • Helen Casteel, MD, was recognized as the Dr. Tom Ed Townsend Award recipient. The honor recognizes an Arkansas community physician who has provided excellence in health care and has been a consistent supporter of ACH. Dr. Casteel is the founder of Pediatric Gastroenterology Associates in Little Rock and a community advocate for children. She also has been instrumental in mentoring and teaching residents and students who come through ACH and UAMS.

The pediatricians received a statuesque crystal vase as a display of appreciation for the support and devotion they have shown ACH. The Betty A. Lowe, MD, Award recipient's name will be added to a plaque next to an original painting by renowned Little Rock artist Barry Thomas; the artwork hangs prominently in the hospital. The ACH Foundation also presented Mrs. Beebe with a signed, limited edition print of the painting.

The evening also included a surprise honor for retiring ACH President and CEO Jonathan Bates, MD. He was recognized as the second-longest serving administrator in ACH history, having served the hospital for 20 years. Bates retires as president and CEO at the end of June, and the board of directors will name a replacement in the coming days.

Ruth Olive Beall was the second superintendent of the Arkansas Children's Home and Hospital. Under her leadership, ACH weathered the storm of the depression, made record progress and expanded well beyond its original status. Betty Ann Lowe, MD, who died in March, was an Arkansas pediatrician, past medical director of ACH and professor emeritus at UAMS. This program is named in honor of these women because they were visionaries for ACH.

Arkansas Children's Hospital is the only pediatric medical center in Arkansas and one of the largest in the United States serving children from birth to age 21. Over the past century, ACH has grown to span 29 city blocks and house 370 beds, a staff of approximately 500 physicians, 80 residents in pediatrics and pediatric specialties and more than 4,000 employees. The private, nonprofit healthcare facility boasts an internationally renowned reputation for medical breakthroughs and intensive treatments, unique surgical procedures and forward-thinking medical research - all dedicated to fulfilling our mission of enhancing, sustaining and restoring children's health and development. For more information, visit

UAMS is the state's only comprehensive academic health center, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a statewide network of regional centers; and seven institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, the Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy, the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, the Psychiatric Research Institute, the Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging and the Translational Research Institute. Named best Little Rock metropolitan area hospital by U.S. News & World Report, it is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has more than 2,800 students and 790 medical residents. It is the state's largest public employer with more than 10,000 employees, including about 1,000 physicians and other professionals who provide care to patients at UAMS, Arkansas Children's Hospital, the VA Medical Center and UAMS regional centers throughout the state. Visit or

# # #

Related Articles

GB Donates Car Seats to ACH, Other Hospitals
Health Info
Donate Now